INDIANAPOLIS – State Senator Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) has been appointed to serve as the Ranking Democrat of four Senate standing committees for the first session of the 119th General Assembly: Ethics; Homeland Security and Transportation; Public Policy; and Veterans Affairs and the Military.

Sen. Arnold has also been appointed to five additional Senate standing committees: Civil Law; Elections; Insurance and Financial Institutions; Pensions and Labor; and Rules and Legislative Procedure.

Sen. Arnold represents District 8 in the Indiana State Senate which encompasses   the majority of LaPorte County including the City of LaPorte and the eastern part of Michigan City. It also includes western St. Joseph County and Davis, Oregon, Washington, Center and Jackson townships in Starke County. For more information on Sen. Arnold, his legislative agenda or other State Senate business call 1-800-382-9467 or visit