INDIANAPOLIS – Members of the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus have re-elected their team of legislative leaders for the upcoming 119th General Assembly.

During a Statehouse caucus held Wednesday, the Senate Democrats voted to re-elect State Senator Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) as Democratic Floor Leader and State Senator Jean Breaux (D-Indianapolis) as Assistant Democratic Floor Leader. Additionally, State Senator Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) was re-elected Caucus Chairman.

Sen. Arnold said he looks forward to advancing legislation to improve the status of Hoosier families.

“I am truly honored to have had the opportunity to serve my democratic colleagues in my five years at the Senate,” said Sen. Arnold. “I’m looking forward to a spirited session where we accomplish a great deal for the people of Indiana and it is my hope that we can achieve this in a bipartisan and positive manner.”

Sen. Arnold was elected to fulfill the unexpired term for Senate District 8 in March 2007. He was then elected to a four-year term in 2008. In 2010 he was elected by the Senate Democratic Caucus to serve as Caucus Chair. He represents Senate District 8, which encompasses the majority of LaPorte County including the City of LaPorte and the eastern part of Michigan City. It also includes Western St. Joseph County and Davis, Oregon, Washington, Center and Jackson Townships in Starke County. Sen. Arnold retired as the LaPorte County Sheriff having served 36 years in law enforcement before joining the Senate.

For more information on the Senate Democrat Caucus or other business before the Indiana State Senate call 1-800-382-9467 or visit the website at