INDIANAPOLIS– State Senator Frank Mrvan (D-Hammond) has been appointed to serve as the ranking Democrat of three Senate standing committees for the first session of the 119th General Assembly: Agriculture; Insurance and Financial Institutions; and Natural Resources.

Sen. Mrvan has also been appointed to three additional Senate standing committees: Education and Career Development; Health and Provider Services; and Tax and Fiscal Policy.

Mrvan represents Indiana Senate District 1 which includes portions of Lake County. District 1 communities include Hammond, Munster, Highland, Dyer, Schererville and Griffith as well as two precincts in Crown Point. For more information on Sen. Mrvan his legislative agenda or other State Senate business call 1-800-382-9467 or visit