INDIANAPOLIS – Members of the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus have re-elected their team of legislative leaders for the upcoming 119th General Assembly.

During a Statehouse caucus held Wednesday, the Senate Democrats voted to re-elect State Senator Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) as Democratic Floor Leader and State Senator Jean Breaux (D-Indianapolis) as Assistant Democratic Floor Leader. Additionally, State Senator Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) was re-elected Caucus Chairman.

According to Sen. Lanane, the caucus will continue their work towards advancing legislation to improve the status of Hoosier families.

“The caucus feels we have been successful in advancing our agenda and stating loyal opposition to proposals that we felt were not in the best interest of Hoosiers,” said Sen. Lanane. “Now, more than ever, we are motivated to work with the other side when appropriate and zealously debate when we disagree.”

Appointed to the Senate in 1997, and elected to a full term in 1998, Lanane was elected to serve as the Democratic Leader by the Senate Democrat Caucus in 2012. He served as Assistant Democratic Leader from 2008-2012. Sen. Lanane represents Indiana Senate District 25 which includes the cities of Muncie and Anderson as well as Union Township and part of Anderson Township in Madison County and Salem, Center, Monroe, Liberty and Perry townships in Delaware County.

Sen. Breaux was appointed to the State Senate in December of 2006 to fulfill the unexpired term of her mother, Billie Breaux, who was elected the Marion County Auditor. Sen. Breaux was elected Assistant Democratic Leader by the Senate Democratic Caucus in 2012. Sen. Breaux formerly served as Assistant Democratic Caucus Chair. She represents Indiana Senate District 34 which encompasses the near East side of Indianapolis including portions of Center, Washington, Lawrence, and Warren Townships.

Sen. Arnold was elected to fulfill the unexpired term for Senate District 8 in March 2007. He was then elected to a four-year term in 2008. In 2010 he was elected by the Senate Democratic Caucus to serve as Caucus Chair. He represents Senate District 8, which encompasses the majority of LaPorte County including the City of LaPorte and the eastern part of Michigan City. It also includes Western St. Joseph County and Davis, Oregon, Washington, Center and Jackson Townships in Starke County. Sen. Arnold retired as the LaPorte County Sheriff having served 36 years in law enforcement before joining the Senate.

For more information on the Senate Democrat Caucus or other business before the Indiana State Senate call 1-800-382-9467 or visit the website at