Senator Tim Lanane2022-01-25T02:31:26-05:00

Indiana State Senator

Tim Lanane

Senate District 25

Senator Lanane




Statehouse Flame

My Information Desk

Legislative Assistant: Josh Levesque

Phone: 317-232-9847 | 800-382-9467


Media Contact: Alexandria Edminster |

200 W. Washington St. Indianapolis, IN 46204

Senate District 25

Indiana Senate District 25 includes the City of Muncie and the southeastern portion of the City of Anderson. District 25 also includes Union Township and part of Anderson Township in Madison County and Salem, Center, Monroe, Liberty and Perry Townships, all of which are in Delaware County.

View District 25 Map

Senator Lanane News


A thoughtful, articulate and dynamic leader, Senator Tim Lanane has proven to be a tireless advocate on behalf of Indiana’s families.

Appointed to the Indiana Senate in 1997, and elected to a full term in 1998, Lanane served as the Democratic Leader from 2012 to 2020. He was re-elected as the caucus leader in 2014 and again in 2016. He served as Assistant Democratic Leader from 2008-2012.

Sen. Lanane represents Indiana Senate District 25 which includes the cities of Muncie and Anderson as well as Union Township and part of

Anderson Township in Madison County and Salem, Center, Monroe, Liberty and Perry townships in Delaware County.

An outspoken voice on issues including economic development, education, consumer protection, health care, and courts and criminal justice matters, Lanane has proven his ability to reach across party lines to get things done.

In the Senate, Lanane was the primary author of legislation addressing sexual trafficking of minors. He was also an author of the concussion protocol training for coaches of youth sports in grades 3-8, and the Indiana Homeowner Protection Act which protects homeowners from deceptive and abusive practices known as predatory lending. In addition, he was an author on legislation authorizing Anderson’s Hoosier Park Racing and Casino, creating thousands of new employment opportunities.

A practicing attorney, Lanane earned his undergraduate degree from Ball State University and his law degree from Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law. Lanane and his wife Cynthia have three children and five grandchildren and live in Anderson, Indiana.

IGA Standing Committees:

Agriculture (RMM)


Local Government

Natural Resources (RMM)

Public Policy

Tax and Fiscal Policy (RMM)

Subscribe to My E-Newsletter

Sign up for my Caucus email newsletter.

Go to Top